Differences Between Federal & State Fair Housing Laws

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Protection and remedies from illegal housing discrimination differ between Federal and California state laws.


Type of Discrimination Covered by California Fair Housing Laws Covered by United States (Federal) Fair Housing Laws
Age (40 and over) Yes Yes (Limited)
Ancestry Yes No
Color Yes Yes
Creed Yes No
Disability or Handicap (mental and physical) including HIV/AIDS Yes Yes
Families with Children Yes Yes
Gender Identity Yes No
Marital Status Yes Yes
Medical Condition Yes No
National Origin Yes Yes
Race Yes Yes
Religion Yes Yes
Sex Yes Yes
Sexual orientation Yes No
Source of Income/occupation Yes No
Other arbitrary discrimination Yes No


California Fair Housing Lawsare investigated and enforced by the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). To report illegal housing discrimination underCalifornia statutes, please refer toDFEH Housing Discrimination Forms

United States (Federal) Fair Housing Lawsare investigated and enforced by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). To report illegal housing discrimination underFederal laws, please refer to theHUD Housing Discrimination Complaint Form

Back to Housing Programs Page


Community Development
633 E. Broadway, Room 201
Glendale, CA 91206
Redevelopment Agency - (818) 548-2005
Economic Development - (818) 548-3155
Business Assistance - (818) 548-3155