News

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

DUI/Driver's License Checkpoint Planned for March 15th

This St. Patrick’s Day Weekend, Don’t Rely on the Luck O’ the Irish

Post Date:03/12/2019 1:23 PM

Tahnee Lightfoot, Media Contact
818-548-3140 (office) 
818-967-7088 (cell) 
tlightfoot@glendaleca.gov

Glendale, CA - The Glendale Police Department will be conducting a DUI/Driver’s License Checkpoint on Friday, March 15, 2019 at an undisclosed location within the city limits between the hours of 6:00 pm and 2:00 am.  

DUI Checkpoints like this one are placed in locations based on collision statistics and frequency of DUI arrests. Officers will be looking for signs of alcohol and/or drug impairment, with officers checking drivers for proper licensing.

“The risks are simply too high. If you are going to be using intoxicating substances this weekend, don’t drive,” said Sgt. Jeff Albrecht. 

The Glendale Police Department reminds drivers that “DUI Doesn’t Just Mean Booze.” If you take prescription drugs, particularly those with a driving or operating machinery warning on the label, you might be impaired enough to get a DUI. Marijuana can also be impairing, especially in combination with alcohol or other drugs, and can result in a DUI.

Collisions involving drunk drivers account for 29 percent of all traffic deaths. In 2017, 10,874 people were killed in alcohol-involved crashes nationwide or one person every 50 minutes. In California, 1,120 people lost their lives in 2017 due to crashes involving a drunk driver, a 23 percent increase from 2015.  

The Glendale Police Department offers these reminders to ensure you have a safe night of fun that doesn’t involve a DUI:

  • Always use a designated driver - a friend who is not drinking, ride-share, cab or public transportation - to get home.

  • See someone who is clearly impaired try and drive? Take the keys and help them make other arrangements to find a sober way home.

  • Report drunk drivers – Call 911.

  • Hosting a party? Offer nonalcoholic drinks. Monitor who are drinking and how they are getting home.

    Getting home safely is cheap, but getting a DUI is not! Drivers caught driving impaired and charged with DUI can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to be upwards of $13,500.00. This includes fines, fees, DUI classes, license suspension and other expenses not to mention possible jail time.

    Funding for this checkpoint is provided to the Glendale Police Department by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

    Return to full list >>